owatonna public library
BOOKS + MATERIALS

Databases Online

Find online magazine & newspaper articles or abstracts. Specialized databases available for automotive, genealogy, law, and more.

Articles - Magazines & Journals
Articles - Newspapers
Arts & Humanities
Auto Repair
Biography
Books
Business
Catalogs & Indexes
Directories
Educator and Librarian Resources
eMedia (eBooks, eAudiobooks, etc.)
Encyclopedias
Genealogy
Health & Medical
Homework Help
Languages
Legal
Practice Tests
Science and Technology
Spanish-Language
Available in Library only. Access is paid for by the Owatonna Public Library.
Available with your Owatonna Public Library card. Some databases will ask you to enter your card number. Unless otherwise indicated, access is paid for by the Owatonna Public Library.
Web resource Free Web resource.

Recommended Web Resources

Web sites selected by librarians on a wide array of topics to accelerate your research. Accessible from any device connected to the Internet.

Magazine & Newspaper Subscriptions

Print magazines, newspapers, and journals are located in the Library's reading room.

Other Library Catalogs

Take a peek at other library collections from around the region or the globe.

Research Database Subscriptions - Subject List

EBSCOhost & InfoTrac users: The number of available databases recently increased via the Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM). We are now listing each resource individually to help you find the specific one that best meets your needs.

Or, find Databases alphabetically by name

  Articles - Magazines & Journals
MasterFILE Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries. Full text for nearly 1,750 general reference publications with full text dating back as far as 1975. Covers a wide range of general interest subjects. Also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164,424 primary source documents, as well as an image collection with more than 453,000 photos, maps, & flags.
Provided by ELM
Academic Search Premier
Full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications across all academic disciplines.
Provided by ELM
EBSCO MegaFILE
Search all four EBSCO databases at once: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, and Regional Business News.
Provided by ELM
EBSCO Power Search
Choose from the full list of EBSCO databases.
Educator's Reference Complete
K-12 education articles for teachers, administrators, and undergraduate or graduate students in education.
Provided by ELM
Expanded Academic ASAP
Articles from academic journals, general interest magazines, and news sources.
Provided by ELM
General Science Collection
Articles from the most popular scientific journals.
Provided by ELM
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Consumer health information, including current health-related pamphlets and health reference books.
Provided by ELM
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Articles from scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with strong coverage of nursing and allied health.
Provided by ELM
InfoTrac Junior Edition
Designed for middle school students, this database has full-text articles from magazines, newspapers, and reference books in a wide range of subject areas.
Provided by ELM
InfoTrac Student Edition
Designed for high school students, this database has full-text articles from magazines, newspapers, and reference books. Historical images and maps included.
Provided by ELM
Kids InfoBits
Designed for students in grades K-5, includes articles from magazines, newspapers, and reference books on animals, famous people, science, countries & states, and more.
Provided by ELM
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this resource contains full text for more than 500 magazines, biographies, primary source documents, and more.
Provided by ELM
Middle Search Plus
Full text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines, biographies, historical essays, primary source documents, and reference books. Image collections includes more than 400,000 photos, maps, and flags.
Provided by ELM
Primary Search
Full text for more than 70 popular elementary school magazines.
Provided by ELM
 
[top]
  Articles - Newspapers
ProQuest Newspapers
Search articles and abstracts from more than 800 newspapers. Minnesota newspapers include the StarTribune and the St. Cloud Times. Other titles include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, and USA Today. Also includes Historical Minneapolis Tribune covering 1867-1922.
Provided by ELM
 
[top]
  Arts & Humanities
(CAMIO) Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
More than 23,000 images of works of art from well-known collections including the Minneapolis Institute of Art, Walker Art Center, Art Institute of Chicago, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Provided by ELM
 
[top]
  Auto Repair
ALLDATA Online
Automotive diagnostic and repair information. Available only on Library workstations.
Provided by OPL

ChiltonLibrary
Quick online access to repair, maintenance, and service information for up to 350 cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today.
Provided by SELCO

 
[top]
  Biography
Biography Resource Center
Biographical information on more than 165,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Provided by SELCO
 
[top]
  Books
Booklist Online
Book reviews from the American Library Association.
Provided by OPL

BookNews

Book news, award lists, and best sellers.
Provided by OPL

Next Good Book
Read, share, and discuss your favorites. Browse by subject, award winners, bestsellers, or let the database find you a book similar to your favorite title. Keep track of what you're reading with virtual bookshelves.
Provided by OPL
NoveList access in the Library.
NoveList from your home (login with Library card number).
Fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and more. Covers more than 120,000 fiction titles. Includes Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Feature Articles.
Provided by OPL
Novelist K-8 access in the Library.
NoveList K-8 from your home (login with Library card number).
Covers fiction titles that are popular with young readers.  NoveList K-8 is updated monthly and contains materials for all K-8 grade levels.  You will find picture books, children's "chapter" books, and young adult titles.
Provided by OPL

Online Book Clubs
Join our Online Book Clubs and start reading books in your email. Each day we'll send you a 5-minute portion of a book. By the end of the week, you'll have read 2-3 chapters. If you'd like to finish a book, stop by the library and pick up a copy. Every week we feature new books. Sign up today and start reading tomorrow.

You can also find suggestions for books and other materials on our Staff Picks lists.
 
[top]
  Business
Business Source Premier
Full text for scholarly business journals and trade publications across all subject areas. Includes detailed company profiles and country economic reports.
Provided by ELM
ReferenceUSA
Informational directory of business and residential listings for researchers, students, job seekers, and government agencies.
Provided by OPL
Regional Business News
Coverage of U.S. regional business journals and newspapers.
Provided by ELM
 
[top]
  Catalogs & Indexes
ArticleFirst
Index of articles from the contents pages of journals.
Provided by ELM
Ebooks Index
Index of Ebooks that have been cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including titles available from NetLibrary and others.
Provided by ELM
ECO (Electronic Collections Online)
Index of articles from scholarly journals.
Provided by ELM
GPO Monthly Catalog
Catalog of United States Government publications.
Provided by ELM
HDTI Index
Index to How To Do It Information.
Provided by OPL
MnLINK Gateway
Search for items in most libraries and library systems throughout the state of Minnesota.
Funded by the State of Minnesota
OAISter
Union catalog of digital resources from open archive collections.
Provided by ELM
Web resource Owatonna Public Schools
Search the collections at the Elementary Schools, Junior High, and High School.
Provided by Owatonna Public Schools
PapersFirst
Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
Provided by ELM

Proceedings
Index of worldwide conference proceedings
Provided by ELM

WorldCat
Catalog of books and other materials held in libraries worldwide.
Provided by ELM
WorldCat Dissertations
List of all dissertations and these available in WorldCat.
Provided by ELM
 
[top]
  Directories

ReferenceUSA

Informational directory of businesses and residential listings for researchers, students, job seekers, and government agencies.
Provided by OPL

 
[top]
  Educator and Librarian Resources
Educator's Reference Complete
K-12 education articles for teachers, administrators, and undergraduate or graduate students in education.
Provided by ELM
ERIC (EBSCO interface)
ERIC (OCLC interface)
The Education Resource Information Center provides access to education literature.
Provided by ELM
Professional Development Collection
Information especially for professional librarians, professional educators, and education researchers.
Provided by ELM
 
[top]
  eMedia (eBooks, eAudiobooks, eJournals)
Web resource

eBooks
Information page with links to sources of free eBooks.

eBooks Index
Index of eBooks that have been cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including titles available from NetLibrary and others.
Provided by ELM

NetLibrary eAudiobooks
Check out eAudiobook titles. All are available for download to your PC or mp3 player; many now also available for download to the iPod. If you do not have a login/password for NetLibrary yet, you will need to set that up from Library computers. From then on you can log in from home or work.
Provided by OPL

www.netlibrary.com

Also check out this list of Supported Portable Listening Devices to help you decide which one to buy or find out if the one you already own works well with NetLibrary eAudiobooks.

NetLibrary eBooks and eJournals
Full text of electronic books in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life and physical sciences, business, computers, and more. Includes Cliff's Notes and Nolo books.
Provided by ELM
TumbleBookLibrary
TumbleBooks are animated, talking picture books.
Provided by OPL
 
[top]
  Encyclopedias
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Encyclopedia content plus news headlines, safe Web sites, multimedia, and a customizable workspace.
Provided by ELM
Britannica Online Public Library Edition
Offers separate home pages for adults and children, providing age-appropriate encyclopedia content.
Provided by ELM
Britannica Online School Edition
Access to four encyclopedias that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate language. Designed for all levels of learning K-12.
Provided by ELM
Encyclopedia Americana
In-depth information for older students and adults.
Provided by SELCO
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
Quick reference with rich media for middle school and higher.
Provided by SELCO
Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre
La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre es un repositorio de seis millones de palabras en textos e imágenes mantenido por el personal editorial y técnico de la enciclopedia.
Provided by SELCO
World Almanac
Almanacs and an encyclopedia. Biographies, facts, statistics, and more.
Provided by ELM
 
[top]
  Genealogy
Ancestry Library Edition
U.S. Federal Census records; passenger lists; birth, death, marriage, & military records; family & local history collections. Available only on Library workstations.
Provided by OPL
ArchiveGrid
Access to descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide.
Provided by ELM
Web resource Dalby Database
Cemetery records for Steele and Rice Counties and much more local genealogy resources.
Free Web resource
Heritage Quest Online Genealogy resources.
Access Heritage Quest Online from your home.
Provided by OPL
 
[top]
  Health & Medical
Alt HealthWatch
Full text articles from more than 180 international journals on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Provided by ELM
Consumer Health Complete
Designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
Provided by ELM

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Consumer health information, including current health-related pamphlets and health reference books.
Provided by ELM

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Articles from scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with strong coverage of nursing and allied health.
Provided by ELM
Magill's Medical Guide
Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. Available only on Library workstations.
Provided by OPL
Web resource MayoClinic.com
Authoritative information on Diseases and Conditions, Symptoms, Drugs and Supplements, Tests and Procedures, and Healthy Living.
Free Web resource
Medline
OCLC search interface. Index to articles in all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
Provided by ELM
Web resource MedlinePlus
Information on diseases, conditions, drugs, supplements, and more from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Free Web resource
Web resource Medline Plus Español
Información de salud. Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina y los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud.
Free Web resource
 
[top]
  Homework Help
See also the Articles and Encyclopedias sections above
Amazing Animals of the World
From aardvarks to zebras, including color photos and games, for elementary students and higher.
Provided by SELCO
America the Beautiful
State-by-state history and current events for elementary and middle-school students.
Provided by SELCO
Biography Resource Center
Biographical information on more than 165,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Provided by SELCO
Discovering Collection
Designed for students in grades 8-12. Includes literary criticisms, timelines, primary source documents, audio and video clips, maps, images, flags, and more.
Provided by ELM
Junior Reference Collection
Designed for students grades 6-8, includes information from reference books about people, places, history, science, and more. Includes photos and maps.
Provided by ELM
Lands and Peoples
Articles about nations and nationalities linked to facts and figures, maps, and flags.
Provided by SELCO
Learning Express Library
Math, reading, and writing skills improvement for elementary, middle school, and high school. College prep practice tests for SAT, ACT, and more. Practice tests for GED, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCA, as well as skill building for adults, job & career resources, and U.S. Citizenship exam prep.
Provided by OPL
The New Book of Knowledge
Reference and current events for elementary school age and higher.
Provided by SELCO
The New Book of Popular Science
Science and technology, plus science in the news for middle and high school age.
Provided by SELCO
Points of View Reference Center
Essays, articles, and news items presenting multiple sides of current issues.
Provided by ELM
Student Resource Center Gold
Designed for high school students to use for homework and in-depth research assignments. Reference works, biographies, essays, overviews, primary works, images, and periodical articles.
Provided by ELM
 
[top]
  Languages
Web resource BBC Languages
Includes French, German, Italian, Spanish, Chinese, and many more.
Free Web resource
Web resource BBC Learning English
Note that this is British pronunciation and spelling.
Free Web resource
  Rosetta Stone
Rosetta Stone is no longer offering their services to libraries.
 
[top]
  Legal
Lawchek
Legal forms, Q & A, glossaries, tax forms and pre-drafted letters. Locate an attorney in your area. Search U.S. Codes, U.S. Supreme Court Cases, and U.S. Federal Circuit Court Cases.
Provided by SELCO
Westlaw
In-depth legal research. Available only on Library workstations.
Provided by OPL via the Steele County Law Library
 
[top]
  Practice Tests
Learning Express Library
Math, reading, and writing skills improvement for elementary, middle school, and high school. College prep practice tests for SAT, ACT, and more. Practice tests for GED, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCA, as well as skill building for adults, job & career resources, and U.S. Citizenship exam prep.
Provided by OPL
 
[top]
  Science and Technology
General Science Collection
Articles from the most popular scientific journals.
Provided by ELM
The New Book of Popular Science
Science and technology, plus science in the news for middle and high school age.
Provided by SELCO
Science Reference Center
Articles from science magazines, encyclopedias, reference works, and more.
Provided by ELM
 
[top]
  Spanish-Language
CLASE/PERIÓDICA
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIÓDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Together they contain 2,600 scholarly journals published in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English.
Provided by ELM
¡Informe!
Full text articles from Hispanic magazines covering business, health, technology, culture, current events, and other subjects. To use the Spanish-language interface, click on the link to ¡Informe!, select "Preferences," and choose "Spanish" under the language options.
Provided by ELM
Web resource MedlinePlus Español
Información de salud.  Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina y los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud.
Free Web resource
Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre
La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre es un repositorio de seis millones de palabras en textos e imágenes mantenido por el personal editorial y técnico de la enciclopedia.
Provided by SELCO
 
[top]