About OPL

The mission of the Owatonna Public Library is to provide for the informational, recreational, educational and cultural needs of the residents of Owatonna, Blooming Prairie and rural Steele County through organized collections of various media and access through technology to other resources.

PVBLIC LIBRARY

The banner image is a photograph of the inscription over Owatonna Public Library's Elm Avenue door. The inscription dates back to 1900 when the Library was built. It was written using the ancient Roman alphabet (aka the ancient Latin alphabet) which only contained 23 letters. This alphabet did not use lower-case letters or the letters J, U, or W. Learn more about OPL's history in Nancy Vaillancourt's book Owatonna Public Library: Free to All, 1900-2000

Staff

Mark L. Blando
Library Director
mark.blando@ci.owatonna.mn.us
Darla Lager
Children's Librarian
darla@owatonna.info 
Renée P. Lowery
Assistant Library Director/Online Librarian
renee@owatonna.info
Joan Rasmussen
Assistant Children's Librarian/PT
joan@owatonna.info
Bonnie Krueger
Senior Reference/Cataloging Librarian
bonnie@owatonna.info
Karen Hanson
Assistant Children's Librarian/PT
karen.hanson@ci.owatonna.mn.us
Cassandra Gilgenbach
Senior Media Services/Reference Librarian
cassie@owatonna.info
Marie Sexton
Technical Services Assistant
marie@owatonna.info 
Dave Lubahn
Circulation Assistant
dave@owatonna.info
Lisa Boutelle
Desk Assistant/PT
lisa@owatonna.info
Brandon Robinson
Circulation Assistant/PT
 
Holly Jorgensen
Desk Assistant/PT
holly.jorgensen@ci.owatonna.mn.us
Christina Skalicky
Circulation Assistant/PT
christina.skalicky@ci.owatonna.mn.us
Isabel Mendoza
Desk Assistant/PT
isabel.mendoza@ci.owatonna.mn.us
Vacant
Desk Assistant/PT
 
Nancy Vaillancourt
Local History Specialist/PT
nancy@owatonna.info
Sandee Hardy-Hagen
Desk Assistant/PT
sandra.hardy-hagen@ci.owatonna.mn.us
Robin Spande
Administrative Assistant/PT
robin.spande@ci.owatonna.mn.us

Library Board

Meredith Erickson, President
John Pfeifer, Vice-President & Representative to the SELCO Board
Jolayne Mohs, Secretary
Edel Fernandez Mejia, Member
Trudy Severson, Member

2016 Library Board Minutes

January 2016
February 2016
March 2016
April 2016
May 2016
June 2016
July 2016
October 2016
November 2016
December 2016

2015 Library Board Minutes

January 2015
February 2015
March 2015
April 2015
May 2015
June 2015
July 2015
October 2015
November 2015
December 2015

2014 Library Board Minutes

January 2014
February 2014
March 2014
April 2014
May 2014
June 2014
July 2014
August 2014
September 2014
October 2014
November 2014
December 2014

2013 Library Board Minutes

January 2013
February 2013
March 2013
April 2013
May 2013
June 2013
July 2013
August 2013
September 2013
October 2013
November 2013
December 2013

2012 Library Board Minutes

January 2012
March 2012
April 2012
May 2012
June 2012
July 2012
September 2012
October 2012
November 2012

Board Minutes from Previous Years